Aminu Kano Teaching Hospital, Kano Nigeria

Zaria Road, P.M.B 3452 Kano GSM: 0706 8297399, 0706 8297396 (Selfless Service to Humanity)


AKTH Newsletter

Receive HTML?


Brief History of AKTH:

Aminu Kano Teaching Hospital was established in August, 1988 when the Kano State Government formally handed over the then Aminu Kano Cottege Hospital to the Federal Government to be used as a Teaching Hospital.

The hospital which temporarily started operation at Murtala Mohd. Specialist Hospital moved to its permanent site in 1996.  Today the hospital has grown to be a full 500 bedded Teaching hospital with some modern equipment and facilities.

"Its core function is service delivery, Teaching and Research"

The hospital has a staff strength of two thousand four hundred out of which over one hundred are consultants in various specialities. One major area that the hospital has impacted on the lives of the people is in the area of kidney transplant.

The first transplant was done in 2002 and so far over twenty people have had successful kidney Transplant in AKTH.

Prof. Abdurrahman Abba Sheshe is the 4th Chief Medical Director of the hospital assumed duty on December 18, 2019.

Past CMDs of AKTH:

  1. Prof. Sadiq Suleiman Wali, MBBS, FWALP                 1987-2006
  2. Dr. Abdulhamid Isa Dutse MBBS, DCP, FWALP            2006-2011
  3. Prof. Aminu Zakari Mohammed MBBS, DCP, FWALP     2011-2019

Past AKTH Board Chairmen:

  1. Late Dr. Abubakar Imam MBBS, MRCS, FROS    1991-1995
  2. Dr.  O. R Long John MBBS, FRCS, FMC             2000
  3. Alhaji Ahmad Al-ghazali
  4. Prof. Idris Muhd NNOM, OON, FAS, FRCP
  5. Dr. Sama’ila Saidu Sambawa                         2013 - 2015

Past and Present Chairmen of Medical Advisory Committee:

  1. Dr Abdulhamid Isa Dutse MBBS, DCP, FWALP     1994 - 1997 
  2. Dr Musa Muhd Borodo  MBBS, FMCP                 1997 - 2002 
  3. Dr Ibrahim Garba   MBBS, FWALP                     2002 - 2004 
  4. Dr Sani Alhassan    MBBS, FWALS                    2004 - 2006 
  5. Prof. Aminu Zakari Muhd   MBBS, FWCPATH        2006 - 2010 
  6. Prof. Hadiza shehu Galadanci MBBS, FWALS       2010 - 2014 
  7. Prof. Muhammad Sani Mijinyawa                       2014 - 2016
  8. Prof. Abdurrahman A. Sheshe                          2016 to 2019
  9. Dr. Auwal Umar Gajida                                    2020

Past Director of Administration:

  1. Alh Sanusi Abubakar Adamu
  2. Alh. Sulaiman Muhammad Kaura
  3. Adamu H. Aliyu

AKTH News Flash

Quick Links